Article III


* State Law References: Elections, G.S 163-279 et seq.

Sec. 3.1. Regular Municipal Elections

Regular municipal elections shall be held in the town every two years in odd-numbered years and shall be conducted in accordance with the Uniform Municipal Election Laws of North Carolina.

Sec. 3.2. Officers of the Town; Conduct and Method of Election

The officers of the municipality of La Grange shall consist of a mayor and six councilpersons. Beginning with the regular municipal election to be held in 1993, the election shall be conducted using the nonpartisan plurality method as provided by G.S 160A-101(7)(b).
(Ord. of 4-5-93(2), § 1)

Sec. 3.3. Election of the Mayor; Election of the Town Council

The mayor shall be elected for a term of four years. In the 1975 election, the three candidates for the town council who received the higher number of votes shall be elected to terms of four years, and the three candidates receiving the next highest number of votes shall be elected for terms of two years. Thereafter, as the terms expire, the successors shall be elected for terms of four years each.