Section 28-124 Holidays

(a) Employees of the town shall be paid their regular rates of pay for the following nonworking holidays:

  1. New Year's Day.
  2. Martin Luther King Day.
  3. Easter Monday (Monday following Easter Sunday).
  4. Memorial Day.
  5. Independence Day.
  6. Labor Day.
  7. Thanksgiving Day.
  8. Christmas Day (workday before the holiday, the holiday and the workday after the holiday).

(Note: Other holidays or special events may be designated by the town council.)

(b) Whenever a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the preceding Friday or following Monday shall be observed as a holiday.

(c) Employees who, for reasons in the best interest of the town, are required to work on a holiday as listed above shall, in accordance with the applicable provisions of this chapter, be granted compensatory time off or may be paid overtime as determined by the town manager.

(d) In order for the town employee to be paid for a designated holiday, the employee must work the day before and the day after the holiday unless the town manager has approved the request for vacation leave prior to the holiday, or unless there is written justification from a doctor for sickness, or unless the employee would be legitimately off-duty as provided in this chapter.

(Ord. of March 12, 1991, art. IV, § 9)